Minecraft Blogs / Other

Why did I start?

  • 421 views, 0 today
  • 2
  • 0
KrisTheCrazie's Avatar KrisTheCrazie
Level 24 : Expert Architect
14
So not sure how many of you here run a server, but I guarantee it's a lot of you. Either it's just for your friends, it's a business or it's to bring some communities together once again. 6 months ago I posted a blog relating to running a server, that was when my server was close to turning a year old. Funny thing is since than I've lost a lot of players, but the server wasn't to blame as nothing has really changed. I found that players were only really active when other players are online, which was mainly when I was online.

I honestly needed a bit of break from my almost 24/7 work on the server, considering I am currently going to college. Since the 1.9 release I've found my interest in the game rekindled, and plan on redoing some features of the game to allow hopefully for my server to grow again. Some of my planned features are events, SlimeFun 4.0, etc.

The benefit I originally had going into September last year, was an additional owner who was helping with the configs and bug resolving. But since than, I have lost him just due to his interest. Now I've been running the show on my own again, which quite frankly isn't easy. But I always find I am asked this question, why did you start the server?

This came after two awesome communities I love fell due to their owners being unable to keep up with the minecraft updates, and off course there communities were small, and eventually the bills added up to too much of a loss for the owners. At the fall of the first community, Slydom/Novalum A group of friends of mine from the server started to build a server, but as the months past the idea fell and school resumed. Causing us to drift away from each other. During this time I found another server, Royal Wars ran by another great owner. It had some unique aspects,and was quite fun to play. But one day out of the blue it was just gone, no announcement or anything, and this time it was due to a Paypal issue. After a few months the server never came back and the owner stated she was developing a new one. But at this point I was thinking to myself whats the point? It could just happen again, and again.

So with my now larger group of friends from two servers, I started to develop Haze Hollow, which in the beginning had many names like The White Legend, VarosCraft/The Realm of Varos, Cuhl Hollow (after a short story I wrote) and finally Haze Hollow. My original idea probably would of been loved by many people, a complete custom map with a custom written story line and quest based system that was supposed to evolve with time as the 3 main nations of the land fought or grew together. Along with a separate world for players to play and build in, without worrying about the quest line. But again many of my friends didn't stay up to the commitment of making the server, so the quests were dropped as it was too hard to configure and time consuming. So today my server is completely different than what it was first supposed to be. But still just as fun to myself, but I always wonder to myself, will I ever bring back quests? Or develop a story of the lands, and find myself a unique server again rather than the many similar servers out there to what I offer.
Tags

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Welcome