Minecraft Blogs / Article

New Wool colors (1.12)

  • 941 views, 0 today
  • 9
  • 1
  • 11
tillwill's Avatar tillwill
Level 58 : Grandmaster Sailor
540
Recently, a server I play on has updated to 1.12, and so I was forced to update myself to play there. I have been building all my ships in 1.8.8 since it came out, and hadn't planned to update, however my project Pearl Harbor is on this server.

Upon joining this server, I noticed that wool, a key block in every one of my builds, has new colors. On the exterior of my ships, there is rarely more than one or two colors of wool being used, however, carpets are an essential part of my interiors.
New Wool colors (1.12)
And as you can see here, the colors on the interiors (which I cannot change, since I base them off of real pictures) no longer blend.
For reference, here is how it looks in 1.8, as it was built:
New Wool colors (1.12)
The big problem here is that there is no other option when using carpet. And I cannot change the floor, because my floors are built directly on top of the ceiling of the deck below. Removing the carpet leaves you with this:
New Wool colors (1.12)
And the changes made to green carpet, which I also use frequently, are even worse:


My question is, why would you change something as irreplaceable in builds as wool/carpet? And something that has already been used in many many builds as these have. And I understand that many people like the new wool colors. But unfortunately, considering the number of builds that have already used it that will be made less appealing with the new colors, I still believe minecraft ought to go back to the way it was.

This leaves me reminded of something I have heard many times in where I come from: If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Tags

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Roroo
06/26/2017 6:35 am
Level 43 : Master Pig
Roroo's Avatar
I don't see the problem in the New Wool, I like it and mostly the yellow color, as it looks more optimistic...
1
tillwill
06/26/2017 12:46 pm
Level 58 : Grandmaster Sailor
tillwill's Avatar
I disagree. We built with the old wool forever and there was nothing wrong with it. The change is unnecessary.
1
Sunshine Cruise Line
06/25/2017 3:24 am
Level 48 : Master Sailor
Sunshine Cruise Line's Avatar
So, you can just use clay or this new colored block (concrete?), and you can use quartz or this white concrete(?) instead of white wool. Also, you could just get the old wool textures and replace the new textures with the old ones :)
Btw they change it because they are dumb... the new updates (1.9,1.10,1.11,1.12) are so bad and change so many things.... and dont only change them, they make it worse. Thats why i am still building at 1.8 and will always stay at that version.
1
tillwill
06/25/2017 1:23 pm
Level 58 : Grandmaster Sailor
tillwill's Avatar
The problem is that you can't replace carpet with clay or concrete or quartz. Carpet is the only block that can be used on floors without taking up the space of a whole block. And it is essential in my ships.
1
Sunshine Cruise Line
06/25/2017 1:49 pm
Level 48 : Master Sailor
Sunshine Cruise Line's Avatar
Well, you could also make 2 block floors, then you can make a detailed ceiling and a detailed floor :)
1
tillwill
06/26/2017 12:45 pm
Level 58 : Grandmaster Sailor
tillwill's Avatar
not doable in 1:1 scale. there simply isn't enough room.
1
Sunshine Cruise Line
06/26/2017 3:36 pm
Level 48 : Master Sailor
Sunshine Cruise Line's Avatar
then build in 1.4:1 like i do :)
1
Anakiiin
06/25/2017 2:03 am
Level 49 : Master Architect
Anakiiin's Avatar
I would always suggest switching the colors of the wool and reverting back to old versions by replacing the textures you don't like with ones of the past. I'm not sure if you'd want to build using a modified version of the default pack, but this seems like a problem that could be solved with that.

It's quite unfortunate the way things have been changing. It would've been great if they added more variants of wool instead of changing it on top of existing colors; I see where they would've made that decision, though.
1
tillwill
06/25/2017 1:22 pm
Level 58 : Grandmaster Sailor
tillwill's Avatar
the thing is, that I have always prided myself in building in the default pack so that people can see my builds without the hassle of a tp. It is unfortunate that now I have to use one.
I also am not sure that one exists that puts the old wool textures in the new version, though I haven't looked much.
1
Anakiiin
06/25/2017 2:23 pm
Level 49 : Master Architect
Anakiiin's Avatar
I can send you some files that have the old textures (I have a default folder that I got from Chunky). I'm fairly certain you can overlay this pack without affecting other textures you want to keep, but still have the old wool textures.
1

Welcome