Minecraft Blogs / Article

|Hanging Gardens Of Azyros| Deconstructed

  • 2,654 views, 0 today
  • 13
  • 3
  • 8
Pikipikipuku's Avatar Pikipikipuku
Level 46 : Master Engineer
91
Hello there! So I guess first I should introduce myself. My name (not the real one, obviously) is Pikipikipuku, I'm from Latvia and I am playing Minecraft since November 2011 (almost 5 years) and I have loved to build and create stuff in Minecraft for all these years. Today I would like to share my concept, ideas and explain one of my favourite project – Hanging Gardens Of Azyros.
This is the part 1 from series about this project so feel free to comment, share your own ideas and suggest! ;)

Part I
|Concept|

First, when I begun my project, I already had lots of ideas about these gardens that I wanted to make. At that time I was working with some cool dudes from Latvia who were making their server and I applied as a builder (spoiler – this server never launched anyway). I have had build several projects/building for them and the next one was supposed to be THE ONE – lobby that would be just like a dream come true. And building hanging gardens was one of my own dreams to be honest. I must say that I was neither familiar nor a fan of sandstone'ish buildings, buildings in deserts or ancient temples/ruins but I guess I felt that I want this project to be some kind of challenge to myself, that's why I thought to myself – there's something mystical and overwhelming about places such as Hanging Gardens Of Babylon and projects like Athery's Ascended's Qhul Rahav. That's what inspired me the most.

Since the beginning I knew that I wanted this structure to be breath-taking yet light, spacious and organic so that you would feel as a part of natural ecosystem. Ancient building like ziggurats are made like pyramids but with more distinct terraces and that was the concept I wanted to apply here.
|Hanging Gardens Of Azyros| Deconstructed
[The whole shape structure goes like a pyramid "^". Also spruce wood planks mark where the paths are and obviously the grass marks where the "green zone" or gardens are.]

The spawning point is actually the lowest part of the whole structure (and the middle point as well) because the first impression for the player who will join in will be that - everything goes up. The perspective tends to go upwards. By that you as a player actually feel a bit smaller that usual and the V shape columns that are mostly used in these Gardens make (at least they should) everything feel lighter than typical I shape columns.

|Hanging Gardens Of Azyros| Deconstructed
[In this picture you can see those V shape columns I talked about. I designed them on my own because traditional I shape columns didn't work for me.]


|Hanging Gardens Of Azyros| Deconstructed

Also the view from above reveals that pretty much everything is made in a shape of a circle or rectangle. Simplicity. It's also symmetrical to 2 axes that intersect in the middle making this project basically a quarter of a circle that reappears again and again.


[View from above.]

So whenever the player joins these Gardens, he's in the middle of the nature itself but he still is just an explorer who's breath is taken by the beauty and the balance between the nature and the humankind.


Part II
|Ground level aka "Equilibrium"|


I call the base ground (lowest level) of Hanging Gardens Of Azyros the Equilibrium. As you can in the last picture from part I (view from above) this layer is made of a yard (sandstone floor with small pools and rivers, main round colonnade, and underground gardens.) This is where all the aqueducts and waterfalls end up. The yard itself has many islands which are connected via small bridges, but rivers and pools are very shallow (only 1 block deep) to make an impression that they contain quite big amount of water but act like small lagoons. The time of the day plays a major role as well because this amount of water surface makes stunning reflections and light-shows.



Trees that grow on chunks of grass in the Equilibrium are to fill up space in the yard and as a result of rivers around them.






Water fountains (that are made from vertically stacked ice-blocks because I just love the idea of water shooting straight up) are organised in the shape of (yeah, you guessed it right) "^". While you are at this base floor, every time you look up you see more and more layers stacked on each other and aqueducts that bring water to the heart and the centre of these Gardens - Round colonnade.


[Round colonnade - spawning point of Hanging Gardens Of Azyros]

When a player joins in, he spawns on glowstone block block you see in the picture above. Oddly, that is island surrounded by pools of water (that makes ornament of a flower when you look from above) so you just have to jump to get on the land. Why no bridges? because I found bridges very unappealing in this area so players have to stick to good old Space bar here. When you're in the middle of main isle, when you look up you see magnificent night sky with moon or without (at night) or dazzling Sun (at noon). This look is enhanced by leafage that makes you feel like you're in the middle of jungle.


[This is one of the looks you get.]

Now we move on to the "underground garden". That's basically the area that is underneath the top layers.



You can get there by entering one of these rectangular colonnades.


[Inside view of rectangular colonnade]


[Also when you enter in this "underground" under the main stairs the are small reading rooms because I just love to read :D.]


[This one was supposed to be an aquarium. I know, right? :D]



And in the end of each hallway of gardens there is small amphitheater/agora because I love places like these from times of Ancient Greece.






So that's it for the part II. Comment on what would you like to see in part III! ;)
































Tags

2 Update Logs

Update #2 : by Pikipikipuku 07/30/2016 4:08:14 pmJul 30th, 2016

Updated to part II, Part III coming! ;)
LOAD MORE LOGS

Create an account or sign in to comment.

DreamBliss
07/05/2018 4:59 am
Level 31 : Artisan Architect
DreamBliss's Avatar
This looks very pretty.
1
Mazzoni
07/30/2016 4:22 am
Level 14 : Journeyman Artist
Mazzoni's Avatar
Looking good :)
I like how you detail.
Have you been on Athion.net before?
1
Pikipikipuku
07/30/2016 4:36 am
Level 46 : Master Engineer
Pikipikipuku's Avatar
Thanks! ;)
About Athion.net, no.
1
Mazzoni
07/30/2016 8:18 pm
Level 14 : Journeyman Artist
Mazzoni's Avatar
Its a real cool, creative server,
That has a nice community that help you develop your building style.
Ive been playing for maybe 2months and its been great.
1
Pikipikipuku
07/31/2016 3:40 am
Level 46 : Master Engineer
Pikipikipuku's Avatar
Not really my thing. All those creative servers are almost identical when you look at the building styles of players. What they do is they teach, suggest you how you SHOULD build and in the end you build good, detailed buildings but they are so alike. Just not the way to encourage your own creativity and originality.
1
Mazzoni
07/31/2016 4:17 am
Level 14 : Journeyman Artist
Mazzoni's Avatar
Hm, thats a different way of looking at it.
Thanks for your time :)
1
yeol
07/28/2016 9:36 pm
Level 49 : Master Toast
yeol's Avatar
ahhh. <3
stunning ;o;
1
Pikipikipuku
07/29/2016 4:37 am
Level 46 : Master Engineer
Pikipikipuku's Avatar
Thank you! ;)
1
Planet Minecraft

Website

© 2010 - 2024
www.planetminecraft.com

Welcome