Katie Koch’s Post

View profile for Katie Koch, graphic

President and CEO at TCW

I had a good week. I hope you did too. I started with a Saturday night journey to beautiful Astana which involved a long layover in Frankfurt. I met my husband at a very rowdy post-deployment party in Frankfurt more than 15 years ago, so while some girls may love Paris, my heart is always in Frankfurt. During the layover, I dragged my colleague Peter Moore, CFA to a delicious traditional German restaurant along the Main river. Schnitzel and Dunkelweizen! After Astana, we worked our way West (but also very much East) to Berlin for the #SuperReturn conference. I was able to spend an energizing day with our Private Credit teams and LPs and be interviewed by my friend and advisor Jennifer Prosek, CEO and founder of Prosek Partners. The best. I then turned my attention to making the most important meeting of the week - the First Grade community helper play for our #2 back in LA. I didn’t have time to change out of my dress on my flight from Berlin to London - but I did manage to lace up my sneakers for an epic intra-terminal sprint to make my Heathrow connection (last flight to LA) just as the doors were closing. I’m sure I looked perfectly insane. #dontcare #momscanmove. The dentist needed a uniform and we forgot about that until I was flying somewhere over Central Asia earlier this week. Dad was with his mom preparing for a scheduled surgery. However, because of the miracle of in-flight wi-fi and my extraordinary team, we got a child size lab coat - embroidered of course - because we are over-achievers at TCW. My exceptional senior counsel is also my friend, my neighbor, a dedicated father and grandfather, and he brought the coat home to us the night before the play. And as I took my seat (on time!) at the “community helpers” performance, I couldn’t help but think about how much help it truly takes for us all to show up in life the way we really want to. I feel profound gratitude for everyone that supports me at home and work. And folks, I’m delighted to report that the dentist absolutely killed it. Delivered her lines with confidence and perfection. Someone asked her if she was glad she got the role of being a dentist and she said “It was pretty good, but next time I want to be a CEO like my mom.” So yes friends, not every day is perfect, not every week is magical, but this was a good week and I am very much hoping that you had one as well. PS Grandma is doing great. PPS We love dentists. I’m rooting for all of us. Pun intended. 🦷 ❤️

  • No alternative text description for this image
Jim Esposito

President, Citadel Securities (starting Aug 30)

1mo

embroidered from 35,000 feet. Simply the best. Good to see you in LA.

Love everything about this Katie Koch. You are a role model in more ways than one but I’ve always admired how you thread the needle of staying focused on family and work (and creatively at that!). Certainly takes a village!

Lindsay Hans

President and Co-head, Merrill Wealth Management

1mo

Katie I love how you lead with these stories of the juggle and all of that comes with it. You are helping model the reality that one can have two jobs and love them both. Keep going, and I hope to see you again soon.

Ashley Healy

Sales @ TriNet | HR Solutions So You Can Focus On Your WHY | Human Resources Tech, Guidance, Benefits, Compliance | Fertility & NICU Mom

1mo

Moms can move! We sure can and you do it with a grace and coordination that I’ve always admired. Not JUST getting it done but having it emboridered to boot. Inspiring! Love your family and the example you set for them. 💪🩷

Monali Vora

Partner, Goldman Sachs Asset Management | Head of Wealth Investment Solutions

1mo

Thank you for being so real!!! I have learned more from you than you will ever know.

Moms Can Move! Katie, thank you for sharing all the support it takes to lead and make an impact. And, the PSA on Heathrow. LHR AKA London Heathrow Race made running shoes my inflight essential.

Like
Reply

She can be it because she sees it 😉👏

Maggie Moore

Co-Founder + CEO, PumpKin

1mo

Love and miss you !

Like
Reply
Lauren Mulholland

Founding Partner at MiddleGround Capital

1mo

Katie Koch love this! Our east coast first grader who also played a community helper in her class play was a proud librarian! Love the confidence in these girls and #momscanmove

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics