Andrew Kraft’s Post

View profile for Andrew Kraft, graphic

Battle-tested C-suite operator through periods of rapid growth

Andrew Weissman is one of the best operations, strategy, and finance execs I’ve ever worked with. He was my #2 and right hand at Arena. And he’s now on the market. Details below!

View profile for Andrew Weissman, graphic

Executive Leadership | Finance | Operations | Strategy | Growth | Efficiency | Synergy

To my LinkedIn Community, (post 1 of 2) I’m looking for my next opportunity, and I’m hoping you can help. After 4+ years at The Arena Group and 18+ years with a connection to Sports Illustrated, I’m hitting free agency with enthusiasm to start a new journey. I have to break this up into two posts, so first, allow me to recap where I’ve been (this is the abbreviated version, somehow). It’s been a wild ride over the last 10 years. It started leading Sports and Video FP&A at Time Inc. We had a great group of Finance professionals that have gone on to do amazing things. I was then recruited by my non-finance colleagues to lead the Video and Audio expansion efforts as General Manager at Time Inc. That effort was ultimately stalled by the sale of Time Inc. to Meredith. When Meredith announced their intention to sell Sports Illustrated, I raised my hand to join that process. What a rewarding experience. It took longer than expected (15 months!), but we had an amazing multi-discipline leadership team that persevered and got the job done. We had at least 20 investor presentations during that time, and probably 4x as many investor calls diving into the Financial model that I built. The work didn’t stop there. We now had to transition the business into a complicated ownership structure. Authentic Brands took ownership of the brand and all of its Intellectual Property, while the operations of the media business transferred to The Arena Group. We were lucky to get most of that work done right before Covid hit, but 2020 was a rough year for SI and The Arena Group as a whole. With new leadership at Arena toward the end of that year, we turned a corner and experienced a tremendous amount of growth over the next 3+ years (close to 2x revenue). Sports Illustrated was a huge part of that, but it was so much more. We instituted a new strategy that relied on rigor, coordination, communication, execution, and accountability. As our existing brands started firing (SI, FanNation, The Street, HubPages), we looked for other businesses in the industry that we could acquire and transform (The Spun, Parade, Athlon, and Men’s Journal). The kindling for the growth that these brands would end up having was the integration process post-acquisition (way too often overlooked!). We grew, we went public, we became profitable, and strove for more. Ultimately this all led to a business combination agreement with Bridge Media, new ownership of Arena, and Sports Illustrated’s media operations moving to Minute Media. I wish my former colleagues at Arena, Authentic Brands, Bridge Media, and Sports Illustrated all the best. I’m sad that I won’t get to continue the mission for growth at both Sports Illustrated and Arena.  (Next steps in post 2)

Andrew Weissman

Executive Leadership | Finance | Operations | Strategy | Growth | Efficiency | Synergy

1mo

Thank you Andrew!

Like
Reply

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics