Adam Bersin’s Post

View profile for Adam Bersin, graphic

Today marks the last day of Rooster Teeth, a pioneer in digital media and internet innovation that had an incredible 21 year run as the underdog. A company that never took itself too seriously, but made a serious impact on millions of fans around the world. Comprised of founders, creators, and employees who said “eff it, let’s see what happens” and my god, what a legacy it leaves behind as a result. I love having endless data at my disposal, but nothing will ever compare to taking risks and galvanizing people to explore the unknown together. I think it’s that kindred spirit that brought me to Rooster Teeth. A move that brought me and the family to Austin to start a new chapter of our lives. While I didn’t catch the company at its peak, the process of closing down the operation has shown the impact of the company in ways I could never have imagined. I’ve been at companies while they’re on meteoric rises and this was my first time watching the fall of Rome. It was painful at times, but educational too in so many ways. I decided to join Rooster Teeth because I wanted to learn under Jordan Levin. He was someone with a great track record, an amazing reputation and we clicked right away during the interview process. I wanted to become a better leader and I knew I’d get that opportunity under Jordan by being in the executive committee and meeting with him on a regular basis. While I learned a ton in my 2 years at Rooster Teeth, I think I learned the most in watching how things have been handled bringing the company to a close. It hasn’t been easy to make everyone at RT feel the same way about much of anything for a variety of reasons, but EVERYONE is leaving with their head held high, feeling taken care of and feeling like they have closure with a place and a fanbase that means so much to so many. It’s been a masterclass in taking an unfortunate situation and making people still feel like they’re leaving on a good note. So on my last day of work I carry that Rooster Teeth spirit and say “eff it”, I’m ready to take risks and big swings to hopefully foster experiences that will bring joy to people when it’s needed more than ever. Cue Kenny Roger’s “Gambler”, it’s not last call at Ricks Tavern in Ann Arbor, but the song has never seemed to have more meaning. And if anyone is looking for a new gunslinger to help with the legacy they’re building, “I’m your Huckleberry!”

  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image
  • No alternative text description for this image

What a journey! Rooster Teeth's spirit of taking bold risks and fostering creativity is truly inspiring. Learning and evolving through both rises and falls offers priceless lessons. Here's to embracing that same daring spirit in new adventures! 🚀👏

Like
Reply
Jordan Levin

General Manager at Rooster Teeth | Professor of Practice at the University of Texas at Austin

2mo

Wow! Thank you, Adam Bersin for the incredibly kind comments and beautifully written post. It was my pleasure to work alongside you and look forward to more gunslinging!

Linda Nicolai

Entertainment & Digital Media | Executive Recruiting | Talent Acquisition | Religion of Sports | Gunpowder & Sky | The SpringHill Company

2mo

Hope the whole team writes a Harvard Business School case study on the longest-running digital media channel, one of the only channels to launch and sustain a subscription service and build a hyper-loyal audience base! Continued success to everyone involved!

Peter Leeb

Co-Founder l Operator l Revenue l Strategy l Technology Translator

2mo

To my network, go hire the Wyatt Earp of marketing! Now…Run

Anand Shah

Content Producer / Entertainment Professional

2mo

Eff it all!!! (Said the guy who works for EffinFunny) Great attitude. You can either Win or Learn. On to the next… #goblue

Gabby Ballard

Driving Cultural Impact and Brand Growth | Senior Director

2mo

A job well done. Be proud! ✨

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics