Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Post Reopened by VonC bash
Post Closed as "Duplicate" by oguz ismail, tripleee bash
format question
Source Link
VonC
  • 1.3m
  • 550
  • 4.6k
  • 5.5k

I just started using git bash today for an udacityUdacity class. I've created a file called test.txt and I've saved it to my desktop. I've created a folder called turnitup in my desktop. I then moved text.txt to the turnitup folder.

  • I've created a file called test.txt and I've saved it to my desktop.
  • I've created a folder called turnitup in my desktop.
  • I then moved text.txt to the turnitup folder.

I try to move test.txt back to the desktop by using mv test.txt /desktopmv test.txt /desktop while I'm in the path ~/desktop/turnitup~/desktop/turnitup. 

Whenever I do this, I get an error message "mv: cannot move 'test.txt' to '/desktop' : Permission denied".

mv: cannot move 'test.txt' to '/desktop' : Permission denied". 

How do I get around this so that I can move the test.txttest.txt file back to the desktop location where it was originally created?

I just started using git bash today for an udacity class. I've created a file called test.txt and I've saved it to my desktop. I've created a folder called turnitup in my desktop. I then moved text.txt to the turnitup folder. I try to move test.txt back to the desktop by using mv test.txt /desktop while I'm in the path ~/desktop/turnitup. Whenever I do this, I get an error message "mv: cannot move 'test.txt' to '/desktop' : Permission denied". How do I get around this so that I can move the test.txt file back to the desktop location where it was originally created?

I just started using git bash today for an Udacity class.

  • I've created a file called test.txt and I've saved it to my desktop.
  • I've created a folder called turnitup in my desktop.
  • I then moved text.txt to the turnitup folder.

I try to move test.txt back to the desktop by using mv test.txt /desktop while I'm in the path ~/desktop/turnitup. 

Whenever I do this, I get an error message:

mv: cannot move 'test.txt' to '/desktop' : Permission denied". 

How do I get around this so that I can move the test.txt file back to the desktop location where it was originally created?

Source Link

How do I get around the permission denied message in git bash?

I just started using git bash today for an udacity class. I've created a file called test.txt and I've saved it to my desktop. I've created a folder called turnitup in my desktop. I then moved text.txt to the turnitup folder. I try to move test.txt back to the desktop by using mv test.txt /desktop while I'm in the path ~/desktop/turnitup. Whenever I do this, I get an error message "mv: cannot move 'test.txt' to '/desktop' : Permission denied". How do I get around this so that I can move the test.txt file back to the desktop location where it was originally created?