Skip to main content
deleted 191 characters in body
Source Link
Frido
  • 2.2k
  • 1
  • 7
  • 24

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only Constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only Constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

Became Hot Network Question
edited body
Source Link
Frido
  • 2.2k
  • 1
  • 7
  • 24

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only constantConstant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only Constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

added 192 characters in body
Source Link
Frido
  • 2.2k
  • 1
  • 7
  • 24

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

Some background, I am not a developer at all and until now all my scripts are in Octave (open source version of Matlab). However it seems that Python is the way to go.

As I am not a developer, and I do not like change for the sake of change if the end result is the same, I'd genuinely like to know why everything seems to be written in Python now? What makes Python "better" than Octave, Julia etc.?

Is it scalability, the availability of more packages, or is it (unpopular idea) a "self-fulfilling prophecy" that has therefore gained a momentum of its own? Other reasons?

(And will I need to learn Giraffe or Bumble Bee in say 5 years? I've seen quite a few "popular" languages over the years. The only constant seems to be C/C++ which I regret not learning.)

Source Link
Frido
  • 2.2k
  • 1
  • 7
  • 24
Loading