Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 11
    Regardless of which format is used by the editor to create links using the "link" button, changing back and forth between the Markdown view and the Rich Text view should never override the valid Markdown format which the user has chosen.
    – Makyen
    Commented Feb 1, 2021 at 19:01
  • 2
    As to which to use as a default, it's probably a personal preference issue. My personal preference depends on what I'm writing. Sometimes bibliography format is definitely what I want, often because it makes reuse of a link easier (e.g. images with link, or multiple references in long text). Other times, I prefer inline (no scrolling around to find which entry it is I want in the bibliography). Overall, this should be something the user should be able to set. It would probably be a good idea to have a button which allows switching the whole document back and forth from one format to the other.
    – Makyen
    Commented Feb 1, 2021 at 19:04
  • 2
    @Makyen a setting would be fine with me! Overall, if I'm using inline links I know the syntax and just use them, so that's why I prefer the button to default to bibliography... But I see there is a point for making it a preference so people that don't just type out inline links can use the button too.
    – Tinkeringbell Mod
    Commented Feb 1, 2021 at 20:43