gRegorLove little g big R

EasieRSVP

Since I’m co-organizing a meetup soon, I have been thinking about RSVPs. My event posts support indieweb RSVPs, but I would like to make it easier for a wider audience. One thought I had: since I am using Bridgy to send public Twitter replies back to my site, I could do some basic text parsing and replies starting with “rsvp yes” or “rsvp no” would display on the event accordingly. On Twitter this might look like:

Join us December 11, 2019 for Homebrew Website Club San Diego!

Event details: https://gregorlove.com/2019/12/homebrew-website-club/

RSVP by replying to this tweet “rsvp yes” or “rsvp no”

Cons: Follow-up replies to change (or remove) an RSVP would require matching up Twitter profiles. It could also be open to spam, though I’d like to try it for a while and see. I could always display a count of Twitter RSVPs instead of links back to their profiles.

Another option could be to set up a one-time password system where people would enter their email, get a unique login link sent to them, then select their RSVP and whether they want it to appear publicly. As I think about it, I am leaning more towards this option, but I might experiment with both ideas.

For some more details about event and RSVP posts, check out Jamie’s post, “Ditching Event Platforms for the IndieWeb.”

View responses or leave your own response

Responses

Chris Aldrich Chris Aldrich mentioned this –

Chris Aldrich Chris Aldrich mentioned this –

gRegor Morrill gRegor Morrill mentioned this –


This is an older post, so the public comment form is now closed. You can still use the form above to send me the link of your reply or sign in with your email to leave a comment. You can always send me a message, too.

Search

Proud member of An IndieWeb Webring 🕸💍