FINALIST IN A FINALISTS JAM
This Blog is an entry in the completed What Makes You a Minecrafter? - Blog Contest #7.

Minecraft Blogs / Article

The Mind of a Minecrafter: What Makes Us Tick?

  • 472 views, 1 today
  • 6
  • 0
AlfansosRevenge's Avatar AlfansosRevenge
Level 22 : Expert Mountaineer
14
Steep hills line the opposing banks of the forested stream, and with paddles in my hands, I row. I glide through the water only stopping to clear occasional blockages or improve the flow from one segment of the river to the next. After a relatively short journey, a glimmering stone wall catches my eye. I continue paddling until additional stretches of the castellated fortification reveal themselves to my view. The outer walls of Ironwell always appeared barren and impregnable despite hiding away a hearty and vibrant city. Merchants and travelers from other lands merge into a shallow, ovular lake from which they can sail beneath the bridges of the outer wall into the city’s mercantile districts for business and pleasure. I follow them, for I also seek business and pleasure, as well as safety and shelter. I seek a home. Upon entering the city limits, I paddle through the traders and fishermen toward a stone pier where I would eventually sell my boat to a local for a few gold nuggets. The pier butts into a bustling street where shops, taverns, and vendors call home. Peering into one of these buildings, I spot people gathered around a jukebox in the riverside inn. Nearby, folks moved in and out of a tavern named The Gilded Trout. These people seemed content with their varying lives. In due time, I would join them in calling myself an Ironweller.

Often people describe Minecraft as the video game equivalent to Legos, and I find ample truth in that description. Legos fit together in infinite combinations and shapes, thus children, teens, adults, anyone can shape Legos to meet their creative or recreational needs. Minecraft exists as a similarly malleable creative tool. Basic needs such as survival and building shelter often need to be met in order to transcend the basic gameplay aspects of Minecraft to reach what I see as the most rewarding aspect of the game: creative expression. The vast multitude of mind-blowing creations speaks to my point that focusing creative energies into Minecraft can be a deeply rewarding experience. Simply put, this is what makes me a Minecrafter.

People choose every day to channel creativity into unique outlets like art, music, film, etc. I chose Minecraft deliberately as my focus due to the game’s large community and strong reputation for being the ultimate sandbox. I enjoy writing (hopefully this blog post speaks to that) and I occasionally write short stories for recreation. As pleasing as such an activity is, I can’t walk around in my stories. I can’t climb the towers or sail the rivers or really do anything. I can reread it, and I can appreciate and imagine the world I’ve created, however, existence in the world is physically prohibited. Naturally, I cannot physically do anything in Minecraft, but gameplay provides a far more accurate approximation than reading or writing. Instead of thinking of lore and writing it into the narrative, I would rather construct the world, block by block, to assume a hidden or subtle narrative. This method has greater appeal mostly since it’s far more accessible. In my personal world, Ironwell, each building has a unique name; each house has a specific place; each district has an individual history and way of life. My narrative doesn’t exist on paper nor does it exist in any capacity to share. This personal narrative is simply mine, and I love that about Minecraft. When another Planet Minecraft user downloads my world, there is potential for them to create a similar narrative or one wildly different in direction. Some people may just think the world looks nice, and they could play on it without ever needing to have any form of lore or background or story. All of these options are not only okay and accepted but encouraged in the Minecraft community. The push for individuality present in all Minecraft communities makes me proud to call myself a Minecrafter. Think back to the narrative I introduced at the beginning of this article. Is that story true? No, not necessarily. It could be if an imaginative player summons it into the world, otherwise, it’s one basic sample of the endless possibilities that Minecraft provides for inventive gamers like me.


Tags

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Planet Minecraft

Website

© 2010 - 2024
www.planetminecraft.com

Welcome